Posted by: Michael Atkisson | February 15, 2012

Does Remediation Need Remediation? One Teacher’s Experience with Khan Math Content.

Does remediation need remediation? One teacher’s experience with Khan content.

“What I find frustrating is that the over-emphasis on the value of the data [Khan has] collected. I used the Khan Academy with my students (mixed in with a problem solving and project based approach) at the beginning of this year, and within 6 weeks I abandoned it (after two assessments I’d given to students external to the program) because I found no relationship between what my weakest students had ‘mastered’ according to the types of questions the Khan Academy provides, and the students ability to use their calculations in any other context. They could do 30 problems in a row flawless related to the rules of exponents, for example, but not solve any problem directly related to the rules of exponents that they hadn’t seen on the Khan Academy videos or exercises. The transferability of what my weakest had learned was extremely low. By contrast, the approach absolutely worked fine for my stronger mathematics students, who were able not only to transfer what they had learned, but to work at a pace I could not hope to match.”

via The “Mathlash” To Silicon Valley’s Move Into Education | Co.Exist: World changing ideas and innovation.

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

